COATESVILLE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT REORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES DECEMBER 3, 2009 - 6:00 PM 9/10 CENTER AUDITORIUM

1. CALL TO ORDER by VICE PRESIDENT RICHARD RITTER AT 6:03 P.M.

2. <u>READING OF MISSION STATEMENT</u>

THE MISSION OF THE COATESVILLE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT, A LEARNING COMMUNITY RICH IN DIVERSITY AND COMMITTED TO EXCELLENCE, IS TO EDUCATE ALL STUDENTS BY PROVIDING RIGOROUS EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES TO BECOME RESPONSIBLE, PRODUCTIVE, LIFE-LONG LEARNERS IN A GLOBAL SOCIETY.

3. ADVISEMENT

This meeting was called for the reorganization of the School Board under appropriate sections of Article IV of the School Laws of Pennsylvania as amended. Public notice was given for this meeting in accordance with Act 93 of 1998, Section 1. By notice of the Board Secretary, Board Members are advised that all votes shall be regarded as roll call votes.

4. <u>ROLL CALL</u>

Diane M. Brownfield - present J. Neil Campbell – present Donald R. Holt, Jr. - present Paul L. Johnson - present Laurie C. Knecht -present Robert M. Knecht -present Richard M. Ritter -present Richard A. Saha, Sr. - absent Donna M. Urban -present

5. MOMENT OF SILENCE AND FLAG SALUTE

6. SCHOOL BOARD REORGANIZATION

(Board Secretary) Reading of the List of Legally Elected and/or Qualified School Directors

<u>Region I</u> (Coatesville, Valley)

Diane M. Brownfield Paul L. Johnson Dr. Tonya Thames Taylor

J. Neil Campbell Joseph Dunn Richard M. Ritter

Region III (East Fallowfield, Modena, Sadsbury, West Caln, South Coatesville) Donald R. Holt, Jr. Laurie C. Knecht Robert M. Knecht

7. SWEARING IN OF NEW BOARD MEMBERS

Magisterial District Judges Gregory Hines and Michael J. Cabry, III swore in the new board members.

8. <u>REVIEW OF VOTING PROCEDURES BY THE SOLICITOR</u>

Attorney James Ellison reviewed the voting procedures.

9. ELECTION OF TEMPORARY PRESIDENT

Nominations were entertained for election of a Temporary President.

- Don Holt nominated Paul Johnson.
- Diane Brownfield nominated Richard Ritter.

A motion was made that the nominations for a Temporary President be closed.

Roll Call Vote

Diane M. Brownfield	Richard M. Ritter
J. Neil Campbell	Paul L. Johnson
Joseph E. Dunn, Jr.	Paul L. Johnson
Donald R. Holt, Jr.	Paul L. Johnson
Paul L. Johnson	Paul L. Johnson
Laurie C. Knecht	Paul L. Johnson
Robert M. Knecht	Paul L. Johnson
Richard M. Ritter	Paul L. Johnson
Dr. Tonya T. Taylor	Paul L. Johnson
	T 7 4

Results

Board Member

<u>Vote</u>

Paul L. Johnson	8 Votes
Richard M. Ritter	1 Vote

On a roll call vote, Paul Johnson was elected as Temporary President. He then took the chair.

10. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

A. <u>PRESIDENT</u>

Temporary President Johnson asked for nominations for President for the year 2010.

Nominations for President:

Robert Knecht nominated J. Neil Campbell for President. Diane Brownfield nominated Richard Ritter for President; however Mr. Ritter declined due to current work demands.

A motion was made that the nominations for a President be closed.

Roll Call Vote: Temporary President Johnson asked the Board Secretary for a roll call with each Board Member naming their choice for President:

Diane M. Brownfield
J. Neil Campbell
Joseph E. Dunn, Jr.
Donald R. Holt, Jr.
Paul L. Johnson
Laurie C. Knecht
Robert M. Knecht
Richard M. Ritter
Dr. Tonya T. Taylor

Roll Call Vote
J. Neil Campbell
Abstained

2010 School Board President J. Neil Campbell

Approved

Vote: 8-0-1 Abstained: Dr. Taylor

<u>Results</u> J. Neil Campbell <u>Vote</u> 8-0-1

Paul Johnson relinquished the chair to the new 2010 School Board President, Mr. J. Neil Campbell.

B. VICE PRESIDENT

President Campbell asked for nominations for Vice President for the year 2010.

Nominations for Vice President:

Diane Brownfield nominated Richard Ritter for Vice President.

A motion was made that the nominations for Vice President be closed.

Roll Call Vote: Mr. Campbell asked the Board Secretary for a roll call with each Board Member naming their choice for Vice President:

Board Member	Roll Call Vote	
Diane M. Brownfield	Richard Ritter	
J. Neil Campbell	Richard Ritter	2010 Vice President
Joseph E. Dunn, Jr.	Richard Ritter	Richard M. Ritter
Donald R. Holt, Jr.	Richard Ritter	Approved
Paul L. Johnson	Richard Ritter	
Laurie C. Knecht	Richard Ritter	Vote: 8-0-1 Abstained: Dr. Taylor
Robert M. Knecht	Richard Ritter	riosumed. Di. Taylor
Richard M. Ritter	Richard Ritter	
Dr. Tonya T. Taylor	Abstained	
Results	Vote	
Richard M. Ritter	8-0-1	

11. REMARKS BY THE NEW PRESIDENT AND VICE-PRESIDENT

Both nominates thanked the Board for their confidence in them.

12. <u>REMARKS BY THE PAST PRESIDENT</u>

None

4

7-Aug-15 4:10:09 PM

13. PUBLIC BOARD MEETING DATES

RECOMMENDED MOTION: That the Board of School Directors approves that the Public School Board Meetings for 2010 be advertised as follows:

In accordance with School Board Policy #006, adopted March 16, 1989 and revised on September 27, 2001, all Board Members and the District Superintendent shall be advised of the dates and times for the scheduled public Committee and Board meetings. The schedule is attached hereto.

2010	Public	School	Board	Meeting	Dates

January 26 th	July - No meeting
February 23rd	August 24 th
March 23 rd	September 28 th
April 27 th	October 26 th
May 25 th	November 22 nd
June 22 nd	December 7 th

2010 Public Meeting Dates	
Approved	
Vote: 9-0-0	

The Reorganization meeting will be held on December 7th at 6:00 p.m. and the regular School Board meeting will immediately follow.

2010 Committee Meeting Dates

July – No meetings
August 10 th
September 14 th
October 12 th
November 9 th
December - No meetings

Motion: Robert Knecht

Second: Diane Brownfield

Vote: 9-0-0

14. COMMITTEES

RECOMMENDED MOTION: That the Board of School Directors approves the committees as follows:

Community and Student Relations Education Finance and Personnel Operations

15. <u>NEW BOARD PRESIDENT'S REPORT</u>

None

16. PUBLIC COMMENT

The Board has requested all persons making comments of public concern to list their name, address, telephone number and topic(s) on the sheet provided. There is a three (3) minute time limit per person.

None

ADJOURNMENT

This meeting was adjourned at 6:26 p.m. on a motion by Paul Johnson and seconded by Laurie Knecht.

Respectfully submitted, *Karen Jackson, Recording Secretary*

Kenneth D. Lupold, School Board Secretary

If any Board Member or member of the public wishes to review the minutes verbatim, please contact the School Board Secretary and make arrangements to come to the District Office and listen to the meeting tapes.